No Trespassing


No Trespassing

A loud splash interrupted the checker game between Frank and Ben. A creature covered in grayish green scales raised its head from the water, and a plaintive cry filled the air.

“Looks like Bessie is wanting dinner,” Frank said.

“Yup. You want to flip for it?” Ben pulled out a coin.

“Not with your coin. I keep losing.”

“Fine, we’ll use one of yours.”

Frank brought out a quarter. “Call it.” He tossed it into the air.


The coin hit the ground, heads up. “Shit. Which one should I choose?”

“Give her the whiner,” Ben said.

Frank walked to a shed and dragged out a man. “Sorry about this, but the sign said ‘No Trespassing’. Nothing personal, you understand, but we like our privacy.”

“Wait! No! You don’t understand. I have a story to file. My editor…” He spotted the reptilian head watching the shore. “Oh my god! It’s real! I thought that kid was joking.” He dug his heels into the ground, trying to wriggle free.

With a grunt, Frank tossed the man over his shoulder and walked to the end of the dock. “Here you go, Bessie.” He tossed the man into the water.

Before the man could gather his senses, Bessie swam over, neck stretched out to nab the tasty morsel.

A scream filled the air, then silence. A few bubbles popped on the surface.

“How many are left?” Ben handed his friend a beer.


“Stupid tourists. Don’t they teach people how to read any more?” Ben cracked open a beer.

“Since I fed Bessie, you can feed the others after sundown.”

“With the whiner gone, it will be a pleasure.”

They returned to their game, smiling when a loud burp reached their ears.

About Anna Dobritt

Anna Dobritt is an independent eBook author and an indie publisher of RPG PDFs and fantasy maps through Cartography Unlimited for RPGs. She loves to read and write, and lives in Michigan. Anna enjoys watching Dr. Who, both the classic episodes from the 1960s-1980s and the current episodes. Anna has three trilogies in the queue: Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe – Volume 1: The Beginning has been released, and Volume 2: Discovery, is going through the editing and revision process, with plans to self-publish in 2016. Volume 3: Truth is currently being written. Two other trilogies are The Archivist — Lenara Lenquil Adventures, and the Guardian Blades Trilogy. Anna has self-published Volume 1 of the Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe titled The Beginning; three short stories: The Hunter, First Raven, Raven Voice; a novelette titled Raven Flight, and a collection of short fiction titled Whispers from Within. Where the imagination soars on glowing wings! May the words ever flow!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Amazon, Anna Dobritt, Author, Authors, Fantasy, Fiction, Images, News, Paranormal, Short Fiction, Updates, Whispers from Within, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.