The Dream

The Dream

The dark entrance of the ruined mausoleum beckoned to Jerold. For weeks he had a recurring dream; voices saying they waited for him. Voices telling him that he held the key to their freedom. So real the voices seemed, he spent every waking moment visiting all the cemeteries in the surrounding communities. Today he found the one that held the mausoleum from his dream.

The beam of the flashlight led the way. The stone steps cracked and crumbling in places. Jerold entered a small room, coffins and stone sarcophagi lined the walls. As the voices instructed, he turned off the flashlight and closed his eyes.

“You who have called, I have answered. You claim I hold the key to your freedom, but I don’t understand what you mean.”
A cold breezed flowed around him, goose bumps emerged on his arms, and he shivered.

“Welcome Jerold Matthews. Long have we waited for you to arrive.”

The cold air held Jerold in place and a he quivered in fear. “What do you mean?”

“You are my descendant on your father’s side. I and the others have been trapped here since our deaths. Your life holds the key to our freedom”

Heart racing, gasping for air, Jerold tried to step back, but his limbs refused to obey. A red light appeared before him, growing to the size of a man. A shadowy hand stretched forth from the light and plunged into Jerold’s chest, invisible claws grasped the heart. The last thing he heard would stay with him for eternity.


About Anna Dobritt

Anna Dobritt is an independent eBook author and an indie publisher of RPG PDFs and fantasy maps through Cartography Unlimited for RPGs. She loves to read and write, and lives in Michigan. Anna enjoys watching Dr. Who, both the classic episodes from the 1960s-1980s and the current episodes. Anna has three trilogies in the queue: Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe – Volume 1: The Beginning has been released, and Volume 2: Discovery, is going through the editing and revision process, with plans to self-publish in 2016. Volume 3: Truth is currently being written. Two other trilogies are The Archivist — Lenara Lenquil Adventures, and the Guardian Blades Trilogy. Anna has self-published Volume 1 of the Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe titled The Beginning; three short stories: The Hunter, First Raven, Raven Voice; a novelette titled Raven Flight, and a collection of short fiction titled Whispers from Within. Where the imagination soars on glowing wings! May the words ever flow!
This entry was posted in Adventure, Amazon, Anna Dobritt, Author, eBooks, Editing, ereader, Fantasy, Fiction, Horror, Kindle, Kindle Unlimited, News, Paranormal, Short Fiction, Uncategorized, Updates, Urban Fantasy, Whispers from Within, Writers World Boot Camp 2, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Dream

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.