Keglan Lake

Keglan Lake

A warm breeze played over Trevan’s arms as he patiently waited for a bite. He enjoyed fishing in the early evening, watching the stars emerge when darkness fell. Living near Keglan Lake gives him plenty of opportunities, and to wonder about the Keglan House on the island.

As far back as he could remember, no one ever lived there and rumors abounded of people who went to the island and never seen again. From an attic window, a deep red light glowed day and night. His grandfather told him the Keglan family lived there when he was a kid, the father went mad one night and killed his wife and eight children. Body parts strewn throughout the house. When the police arrived at the house, they found Mr. Keglan sitting naked in a pool of blood in the middle of the living room, bloody ax in hand. When asked why he killed his family, he said, “The light told me to.”

Two days later the light appeared in the window The police investigated, but found nothing in the attic to explain it. When they went up there, they needed flashlights to see anything, but once outside, the light was visible. Some say it’s a window into hell, and only those with deep seated evil can enter the room and see what makes the light. Others say it’s the spirits of the murdered Keglan family, forever trapped in the house, the attic room being the highest point they can reach.

A tug on the line recalls Trevan from his thoughts of the Keglan House. Reeling in the hook, something rises from the depths. A skeletal hand lodged on the hook, a high school ring wedged on the remains of the middle finger. Shaking his head, he removes the item and tosses it into the large basket at his side. Bones halfway filled the basket, some with flesh still clinging to them, others covered in tattered pieces of clothing.

About Anna Dobritt

Anna Dobritt is an independent eBook author and an indie publisher of RPG PDFs and fantasy maps through Cartography Unlimited for RPGs. She loves to read and write, and lives in Michigan. Anna enjoys watching Dr. Who, both the classic episodes from the 1960s-1980s and the current episodes. Anna has three trilogies in the queue: Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe – Volume 1: The Beginning has been released, and Volume 2: Discovery, is going through the editing and revision process, with plans to self-publish in 2016. Volume 3: Truth is currently being written. Two other trilogies are The Archivist — Lenara Lenquil Adventures, and the Guardian Blades Trilogy. Anna has self-published Volume 1 of the Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe titled The Beginning; three short stories: The Hunter, First Raven, Raven Voice; a novelette titled Raven Flight, and a collection of short fiction titled Whispers from Within. Where the imagination soars on glowing wings! May the words ever flow!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keglan Lake

  1. Reblogged this on Don Massenzio's Blog and commented:
    Enjoy this short fiction piece from Anna Dobritt’s blog.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.