Short Fiction — Kevrin Family Manor

Kevrin Family Manor

Clouds thickened, darkening the sky as the sun set. Ahead a reddish glow lit the fog surrounding the remains of the Kevrin Family Manor. Muffled footsteps neared the building, a family member come to call. Murmuring voices, too faint to make out broke the silence. She paused at the remains of the entry, flashlight in one hand, a Glock in the other. Her mind whirled with the memory of what happened the last time she came here, costing the life of her best friend. All because of a stupid dare. Sweat beaded her forehead, trickling down her cheeks. The beam of light trembled in time with her heart. One step. Two steps. Three steps. Standing amid the crumbled stones and shattered beams of wood, she boldly faced the rail thin man standing before her.

“You’ve grown, Kenra Kevrin. Harder in heart, mind, and spirit.”

His voice echoed in the depths of her mind, a shudder ran through her, and she threw back her shoulders. “This ends here and now, great grandfather. I am the last of the line. It took a long time, but every one of them is now dead,” she said, meeting his haunting gaze fearlessly.

Kirkaran Kevrin’s form wavered, his mind seeking the blood ties of the Kevrin family. Only one appeared, and she stood before him, unbowed. “So you have. Impressive. Have you come to claim your Family Legacy?”

The Glock rose, a shot echoed through the ruins. A soft thump disturbed the silence. Kirkaran Kevrin smiled, form fading away. “Thank you, child, for freeing me.”

Blood mingled with the dust and debris upon which Kenra’s body lay.

About Anna Dobritt

Anna Dobritt is an independent eBook author and an indie publisher of RPG PDFs and fantasy maps through Cartography Unlimited for RPGs. She loves to read and write, and lives in Michigan. Anna enjoys watching Dr. Who, both the classic episodes from the 1960s-1980s and the current episodes. Anna has three trilogies in the queue: Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe – Volume 1: The Beginning has been released, and Volume 2: Discovery, is going through the editing and revision process, with plans to self-publish in 2016. Volume 3: Truth is currently being written. Two other trilogies are The Archivist — Lenara Lenquil Adventures, and the Guardian Blades Trilogy. Anna has self-published Volume 1 of the Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe titled The Beginning; three short stories: The Hunter, First Raven, Raven Voice; a novelette titled Raven Flight, and a collection of short fiction titled Whispers from Within. Where the imagination soars on glowing wings! May the words ever flow!
This entry was posted in Amazon, Anna Dobritt, Author, Authors, News, Paranormal, Short Fiction, Short Stories, Short Story, Updates, Whispers from Within, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.