Reflections — Flash fiction based on an image



Melody stood beside the reflecting pool, waiting for her parents. They were visiting her grandmother’s grave. The cloudy sky fit everyone’s mood, but for Melody her own sorrow ran deeper for an unknown reason. For the past few days an emptiness within had been growing, an emptiness that gnawed at her heart. With a sigh, she glanced into the water, startled by the twin reflection. She spun about but saw no one else.

Within her mind a voice spoke. “Hi Melody. I’m glad I finally get to meet you.”

“Wh-who are you?” She looked over her shoulder, but no one else was there.

“My name is Muriel. I’m so sorry we will never get to meet in person. Mother saw to that when were born.”

“What do you mean? And where are you?” Instead of fear, Melody’s mood lifted.

“I crossed over shortly before our grandmother died. I drowned in a swimming pool. That’s why you see me in the water.”

“Our grandmother? I have no brothers or sisters.”

“I was your twin, Melody. Mother gave me up for adoption shortly after we were born. She could only take care of one of us.” Muriel sighed. “I lived with a good family who treated me like their own daughter, but when I was old enough they told me I was adopted. I often wondered what my twin was like.”

“Is this why I feel so empty now? Because you are dead?”

“Yes. But from now on, whenever you look into a still pool of water you will see me and we can talk.”

Melody’s mood lifted at this news. “I would like that, Muriel. Thank you.”

Melody waved good-bye to Muriel and went to rejoin her parents, the cloudy sky no longer depressing her.

About Anna Dobritt

Anna Dobritt is an independent eBook author and an indie publisher of RPG PDFs and fantasy maps through Cartography Unlimited for RPGs. She loves to read and write, and lives in Michigan. Anna enjoys watching Dr. Who, both the classic episodes from the 1960s-1980s and the current episodes. Anna has three trilogies in the queue: Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe – Volume 1: The Beginning has been released, and Volume 2: Discovery, is going through the editing and revision process, with plans to self-publish in 2016. Volume 3: Truth is currently being written. Two other trilogies are The Archivist — Lenara Lenquil Adventures, and the Guardian Blades Trilogy. Anna has self-published Volume 1 of the Ravynwyng Chronicles Universe titled The Beginning; three short stories: The Hunter, First Raven, Raven Voice; a novelette titled Raven Flight, and a collection of short fiction titled Whispers from Within. Where the imagination soars on glowing wings! May the words ever flow!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, News, Paranormal, Short Stories, Writers World, Writing, Writing Exercise and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.